Make your own free website on


The military family dynasty which ruled Japan from 1564 to 1867. The dynasty was founded by Iyeyasu (1542-1616). He succeeded in bringing centuries of war and turmoil to an end and made Tokyo the capital of Japan. He claimed descent from the Minamoto ruling family and took the herieditary title "shogun". He was succeeded by 14 more shoguns, all of them his family descendants. The last shogun , Yoshinobu Tokugawa (1837-1913) resigned his feudal shogunate rights on October 14, 1867 and went into retirement at Shizuoka.

Close this window